
Use of ILLEGAL FIREWORKS
is a CRIME!

How can you tell if a firework is illegal?
Look for identifiers. Illegal fireworks include those described as 
cherry bombs, bottle rockets, mortars, aerial shells, M-80’s and 
firecrackers. Illegal fireworks can also easily be identified by the lack of 
a seal of approval from the California State Fire Marshal. If the 
firework can leave the ground or explode in the air it is illegal.

How does a legal firework become illegal?
Any Safe and Sane firework that is altered or changed in any way can be 
considered illegal. Purchased fireworks from stands in Costa Mesa support 
organizations who support the community. These types of fireworks are 
legal and can be used in your Costa Mesa neighborhood on –

July 2, 3 and 4 ONLY
between the hours of 4 -10 p.m.

Report Illegal Fireworks
Use and Suspicious Activity at

714.754.5252 (24-hour number)

ZERO    TOLERANCE

Possession of just one illegal firework
is a misdemeanor and punishable
by a fine up to $1,000 and/or 
imprisonment.

BE A GOOD NEIGHBOR – 
DON’T USE ILLEGAL FIREWORKS
FOR MORE INFORMATION   |  www.costamesaca.gov/fireworks

El uso de FUEGOS ARTIFICIALES
ILEGALES es un

Como puede usted saber si un fuego artificial es ilegal? 
Busque identificadores. Fuegos artificiales ilegales incluyen aquellos descritos como 
petardos, cohetes de botella, morteros, proyectiles aereos, M-80’s y cohetes. Tambien 
pueden ser identificados por no tener un sello de aprobación del Departamento del 
Mariscal de Bomberos del Estado de California.  Si el fuego artificial puede dejar el suelo 
y explotar en el aire es ilegal. 

Como puede un fuego artificial legal convertirse en ilegal?
Cualquier fuego artificial seguro y sano que se altera o se cambia de cualquier manera 
puede ser considerado ilegal. Fuegos artificiales comprados en puestos de la Ciudad de 
Costa Mesa apoyan a organizaciones que ayudan a la comunidad. Estos tipos de fuegos 
artificiales son legales y pueden usarse en su vecindario de la ciudad de Costa Mesa el

 2, 3 y 4 de Julio
entre las 4 y 10 p.m.

Reporte fuegos artificiales
ilegales y actividades sospechosas al
714.754.5252 (24-horas al dia)

Posesion de un solo fuego artificial
ilegal es un delito y se castiga con
una multa de hasta $1,000 y/o 
encarcelamiento. 

DELITO!

CERO    TOLERANCIA  

SEA UN BUEN VECINO – 
NO USE FUEGOS ARTIFICIALES ILEGALES!

PARA MAS INFORMACION  |  www.costamesaca.gov/fireworks


